Awards Info

Awards Info
The Mighty Nose Awards is a prestigious national poetry competition with a unique emphasis on describing smell through imaginative writing. Primary school pupils aged 7-11 are invited to enter their poems – either as part of their class with their teacher’s involvement, or individually. Winning pupils are awarded at The Mighty Nose Awards’ celebration in March 2018 at The Jasmine Awards ceremony at BAFTA – this is a UK journalism prize which celebrates writing about fragrance from the magazine, newspaper and digital industries. Celebrating young writing talent is now a key part of this industry programme.
Entry Requirements
There are two entry categories:
1. Years 3-4 or equivalent, ages seven to nine
2. Years 5-6 or equivalent, ages 9-11
Each entry must be a poem (it doesn’t have to rhyme), with a maximum length of thirty lines. The poem must have smell/s as a major feature. See our ideas and inspiration sheet for more!
Pupils are welcome to enter across any poetry form, including verse, acrostic poems or even limericks.
Judging Process
Entries are read individually by our panel of judges. Judges score poems marks out of 5 (with a maximum score of 15) across the following: originality; quality of writing; and lively depiction of smells.
The six higheset poems in each category will be shortlisted for a final judging session in February 2018.
At the final judging session the judges will choose
- A winner and runner-up in each category
- A further Highly Commended award (judges’ discretion)
- The best overall class submission
The Prizes
Pupils awarded first prize and runner-up are invited with hteir parents to attend an awards ceremony and prize-giving at BAFTA, London, March 2018.
First Prize in each category:
Winning entrant awarded a £50 book token
Their school receives a Marty champion figurine
Runner-Up in each category:
Winning entrant awarded a £25 book token
Class Commendation Prize:
£50 book token for the school
All entrants will be awarded a Certificate of Achievement.
Key Dates
25th September 2017: Entries open
30th November 2017: Closing date for entries
23rd February 2018: Winners notified